(c) 2012 Megan Mette
(c) 2012 Megan Mette

Jacob Gotlib (b. 1984) has written music for instruments, electronics, dance, and multimedia. His music explores approaches to patterning, repetition, and panel-like structure, and works with materials informed by concepts and processes in electronic music. His work is regularly performed by a variety of ensembles including Ensemble Linea, Ensemble SurPlus, Ensemble Dal Niente, Crossfire Percussion Duo, Schlagquartett Köln, and Slagwerk Den Haag.

In the last several years, Jacob’s music has received recognition from ASCAP/SEAMUS (for Embers), Ossia (for The Slow Splintering), The Acht Brücken Festival (for Scape After Louise), and Gaudeamus Muziekweek (for Portrait Sequence (Blanching Out)). Upcoming commissions include solo works for cellist Jon Silpayamanant, tubist Aaron Hynds, and trombonist Weston Olencki, and a site-specific work for Louisville’s Bernheim Forest and Arboretum.

In 2007, Jacob  was a co-founder of the Kansas City Electronic Music and Arts Alliance (KcEMA), whose mission was to promote experimental music of all types across the Kansas City area. He was also a member of the Buffalo, NY-based new music collective Wooden Cities and currently works with Louisville, KY-based Mothership Ensemble. In addition, he is the host of Muddle Instead of Music, a weekly program dedicated to contemporary music on Louisville’s ARTxFM station.

Jacob has studied at the Oberlin Conservatory, the University of Missouri-Kansas City, and in 2015 completed doctoral studies with David Felder at the University of Buffalo.

Download CV

One thought on “Biography”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *